A night of celebration

This seasons’ award winners have been decided.

On Monday, March 5th the Islanders hosted their annual Fan Choice Awards Banquet at the EastLink Centre in Charlottetown.

The night began with a comedic monologue from host Patrick Ledwell who would go on to introduce the night’s awards and presenters while also sparking a healthy feud with long-time Islanders Play-By-Play man, George Matthew, who sat on the opposite side of the stage interviewing award winners.

Here is the complete list of the nights awards and winners:

• Rookie of the Year presented by Hot 105.5: Brett Budgell

• U.P.E.I Scholastic Player of the Year: Matthew Welsh

• Mooselight 3-Stars Award: P.O. Joseph

• Moore’s Well Drilling Offensive Player of the Year: Keith Getson

• Hardest Working Player presented by Bernadette’s Flowers: Hunter Drew

• Maritime Electric Volunteer of the Year: Nancy Fong

• Mayor’s Class Act Award: Olivier Desjardins

• Island Oxygen Defensive Player of the Year: P.O. Joseph

• Fair Isle Ford Play of the Year: Pascal Aquin

• Eastlink Fan Favourite Award: Matthew Welsh

• Red Shore’s Player’s Player Award: Matthew Welsh

• Service Master Most Valuable Player presented by Robin’s Donuts: Matthew Welsh

Islanders goaltender Matthew Welsh finished the night with a total of four trophies, claiming the final three awards of the night including the Fan Favourite award selected by the fans, the Player’s Player award voted on by his teammates and perhaps the biggest award of all, the Charlottetown Islanders’ Most Valuable Player Award.

More News
Islanders look to continue dominance over Remparts on the road
5 hours ago
HIGHLIGHTS | Charlottetown vs. Moncton | January 13th, 2019
3 days ago
GALLERY: January 12th vs. Rouyn-Noranda
3 days ago
Islanders fall to Wildcats on Sunday afternoon
4 days ago
Islanders look to remain perfect against Moncton
4 days ago
HIGHLIGHTS | Rouyn-Noranda vs. Charlottetown | January 12th, 2019
4 days ago